Welcome to the homepage of the Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History, an affiliated society of the American Historical Association. The Committee on Lesbian and Gay History was founded in 1979 to promote the study of homosexuality in the past and present by facilitating communication among scholars in a variety of disciplines working on a variety of cultures. The name of the committee was changed to Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in January 2009. Since 1982, the Committee has been officially recognized as an affiliate of the American Historical Association and meets annually in conjunction with the AHA conference, where we sponsor sessions on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer history. One need not be a member of the AHA to join the Committee.


Join the CLGBTH! If you are a scholar of LGBT/queer history, we need your support. Become part of our community and join our collective endeavor to enrich the historical profession with LGBT perspectives, voices and histories. Together we can ensure that LGBT and queer histories remain powerfully and visibly present in our field, in our educational institutions, and in our society at large.

Membership is available on an annual or lifetime basis.  Members receive our twice-yearly newsletters, which include book reviews, conference updates, a co-chairs’ column, and other information about the vibrant field of LGBT history. Membership also grants access to our email list-serv. Membership dues support our status as an affiliate organization of the American Historical Association, whose annual meetings host our own slate of over a dozen queer-themed sessions. Your support also enables us to offer cash prizes for outstanding books and articles in the field. Finally, if you are committed to our mission, and want to get involved as a member of our governing board, we would love to hear from you. And if you are a former member whose membership has lapsed, we invite you to update now.

Your membership ensures that queer history remains a vibrant part of the broader historical community. Join the CLGBTH NOW!

2016 AHA Call for Papers: Queer Migrations

The Committee on LGBT History seeks a special slate of panels and roundtables to present to the AHA Program Committee for consideration for the 2016 conference in Atlanta. The theme of the 2016 AHA is “Global Migrations: Empires, Nations, and Neighbors.” The CLGBTH is specifically seeking five or six panels that will be in a special track entitled, “Queer Migrations.”

We hope that these panels and roundtables can engage themes in queer history around movement and motion, broadly construed. Panels might consider, but certainly should not be limited to: the movement of queer people across and between nations; the circulation of desire among queer subjects; the place of travel in the fulfillment of queer desires; LGBT encounters with immigration, borders, and citizenship; migration of queer subjects compelled by settler colonialism. Panels might also consider persistent themes in queer history: transition away from an initially assigned gender position; rural-urban migration; movement between “the closet” and public queerness. We welcome scholarship in all geographic areas, and especially encourage those working on regions outside the U.S. and periods before the 20th century to apply. In keeping with the AHA’s theme, we hope that at least two panels will be explicitly transnational and/or comparative in scope.

The CLGBTH also welcomes LGBTQ panels and roundtables not directly related to our main theme. If you are submitting an LGBT history panel directly to the AHA (rather than for our special Queer Migrations track), please let us know by February 1 so that we can consider sponsoring your submission.

The deadline for possible papers and panels on our special track is February 1. While we strongly prefer assembled sessions, we will also build sessions from individual paper submissions as needed. In order to submit a panel, please email us the following:

• Session title (of no more than 20 words)

• Session abstract (up to 500 words)

• Paper or presentation titles

• Abstract or description for each presentation (up to 300 words)

• Biographical paragraph or CV summary (up to 250 words) for each participant

• Correct e-mail address for each participant

• Affiliation, city, state, and country for each participant

• Chair (required) and commentator (optional) for the session

• Audiovisual needs, if any

If you are submitting a paper, please provide the following:

• Paper or presentation title

• Abstract or description for presentation (up to 300 words)

• Biographical paragraph or CV summary (up to 250 words)

• Correct e-mail address

• Affiliation, city, state, and country

• Audiovisual needs, if any

All proposals and communications should go to CLGBTH Co-Chairs Amanda Littauer (alittauer@niu.edu) and Nick Syrett (nicholas.syrett@unco.edu). All people accepted into CLGBTH programs are required to be current paid members of our organization. You can sign up for or renew membership by clicking on the Membership Tab (above).

The final AHA Program Committee deadline is February 15. For details about AHA submissions, see the AHA submission page: http://www.historians.org/annual-meeting/submit-a-proposal.

We will submit the program we create to the Program Committee and ask that they accept the entire slate. If, for one reason or another, some sessions are not accepted, we can consider including them in our affiliated program, which is submitted after we know the results of the program committee’s deliberations.