Call for Submissions: 2012 Audre Lorde and Gregory Sprague Prizes

March 11, 2011 in Announcements by CLGBTH

The Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History, an affiliate society of the American Historical Association, will award the Audre Lorde and Gregory Sprague Prizes in 2012:

  • The Audre Lorde Prize for an outstanding article on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, transsexual, and/or queer history published in English.
  • The Gregory Sprague Prize for an outstanding paper or chapter on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, transsexual, and/or queer history completed in English by a graduate student (the Sprague Prize is underwritten by the Gerber/Hart Library, Chicago, Ill.).

Papers and chapters written and articles published in 2010 or 2011 are eligible. Materials may be submitted by students, faculty, authors, readers, or publishers. Self-nominations are encouraged. Published articles by graduate students may be submitted for both the Lorde and Sprague Prizes. Please label whether the submission is for the Sprague Prize, the Lorde Prize, or both.

The 2012 Lorde/Sprague Prize Committee is chaired by Thomas A. Foster (DePaul University). Claire Potter (Wesleyan University) and Julio Capó, Jr. (Florida International University) comprise the remaining members of the committee.

Please send both one electronic copy and one print copy of your submission to:

Thomas A. Foster
Department of History, SAC 420
2320 North Kenmore Ave.
DePaul University
Chicago, IL 60614

Mailed submissions must be postmarked by 31 December 2011; Electronic submissions must include be sent by 11:59pm, Central U.S. Standard Time.

If you have questions about the prizes, please contact the Committee on LGBT History Chair, Ian Lekus, at