The Committee

The Committee on Lesbian and Gay History was founded in 1979 to promote the study of homosexuality in the past and present by facilitating communication among scholars in a variety of disciplines working on a variety of cultures. The name of the committee was changed to Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender History in January 2009. Since 1982, the Committee has been officially recognized as an affiliate of the American Historical Association and meets annually in conjunction with the AHA conference, where we sponsor sessions on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer history. One need not be a member of the AHA to join the Committee.

The Website

On this website, you’ll find:

  • Newsletter: Archives of the Committee’s newsletter from 2005 to the present.
  • Prizes: The Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History awards five prizes for outstanding work in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer history. This page describes those prizes and lists past winners and citations.
  • Syllabi: A collection of recently taught courses by members of the Committee on LGBT History
  • CLGBTH In Action: Includes a database of dissertations in LGBTQ history, reports by the Committee, and programs of past annual meetings and other information regarding the activities of the CLGBTH.
  • Contact UsOur current contact information.

Co-Chairs: Julio Capó, Jr., Florida International University and Emily K. Hobson, University of Nevada Reno (2018-2020)
Secretary-Treasurer: Emily Skidmore, Texas Tech University
Website Editor: Kevin C. Quin, Cornell University
Review Editor: Caroline Radesky, University of Iowa

Governing Board
Katie Batza, University of Kansas (2018-2020)
Howard Chiang, University of California, Davis (2019-2021)
Chelsea del Rio, CUNY LaGuardia (2018-2020)
Will Kuby, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga (2018-2020)
Scott Larson, University of Michigan (2019-2021)
Victor Macías-González, University of Wisconsin LaCross (2018-2020)
Dan Royles, Florida International University (2018-2020)
Sarah E. Watkins, Independent Scholar (2019-2021)

Last Updated: 13 January 2019