The Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History awards five prizes for outstanding work in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, transsexual, and queer history:

The John Boswell Prize for an outstanding book on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, transsexual, and/or queer history published in English. (Odd-numbered years, covering previous two years.)

The Joan Nestle Prize for an outstanding paper on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, transsexual, and/or queer history completed in English by an undergraduate student. (Odd-numbered years, covering previous two years.) The undergraduate paper prize is funded through a special fund established by CLGBTH’s lifetime members.

The Gregory Sprague Prize for an outstanding published or unpublished paper, article, book chapter, or dissertation chapter on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, transsexual, and/or queer history completed in English by a graduate student. (Even-numbered years, covering previous two years.) The Sprague Prize is funded by the Gerber/Hart Library in Chicago.

The Audre Lorde Prize for an outstanding article on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, transsexual, and/or queer history published in English. (Even-numbered years, covering previous two years.)

The Allan Bérubé Prize for outstanding work in public or community-based lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and/or queer history. (Even-numbered years, covering previous two years.) The Bérubé Prize is underwritten by the GLBT Historical Society in San Francisco, CA.

Recent Winners

John Boswell Prize 2015:

Co-winner: Afsaneh Najmabadi, Professing Selves: Transsexuality and Same-Sex Desire in Contemporary Iran (Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 2014).

Professing Selves is a powerful and skillful history, as well as an ethnography, that provides a sensitive reading of ideas about transsexuality in relation to medical practices over the 20th century, showing the reconfiguration of trans from intersexual to homosexual contexts and then to a post-Revolutionary state-sanctioned independent category. It provides an excellent introduction to both Iranian debates on sexuality and to wider understandings of the self, while considering carefully the limits of both ‘trans’ and ‘queer.’

Co-winner: Phil Tiemeyer, Plane Queer: Labor, Sexuality, and AIDS in the History of Male Flight Attendants (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2013).

Plane Queer incorporates a wide range of sources to make a very compelling case for why we must consider flight attendants in relation to larger histories of capital, sexuality, civil rights, and queer work. Accessibly and deftly written, the book offers complex interpretations of the intertwining of racism, sexism, and homophobia. Tiemeyer adds an important new narrative to the history of gender and the workplace.

Joan Nestle Prize 2015:

Shay Gonzales, “Culture War in the ‘hate state’: ACT UP/Denver before and after Amendment 2.” (University of Colorado, Denver)

The Committee was impressed by the originality of the topic and of the analysis, which is based on careful use of newspaper and archival sources to understand shifting gay political strategies in Colorado in the 1990s.

A scholarly committee determined winners after an open nomination process. The CLGBTH received 13 submissions for the Boswell and 5 for the Nestle. Committee members for both prizes included Estelle Freedman, T. J. Tallie, and Mir Yarfitz. The committee would like to thank the entrants for their submissions, which are worthy of praise and make important contributions to LGBTQ History.

Prize committees

2015: Estelle Freedman*, T.J. Tallie, Mir Yarfitz
2014: Lorde/Sprague Committee: Kevin Mumford*, Emily K. Hobson, Anita Kurimay; Bérubé Committee: Jill Austin*, JD Doyle, Maria-Anna Tesliou
2013: Margot Canaday*, Cookie Woolner, Ben Cowan
2012: Sprague and Lorde: Thomas A. Foster*, Julio Cesar Capo, Claire Potter; Bérubé Committee: Kevin P. Murphy*, Marcia Gallo, Lauren Jae Gutterman, Joey Plaster
2011: Ellen Herman*, Chris Waters, Stephanie Gilmore
2010: Marc Stein*, Nicholas Syrett, Ellen Zitani
2009: John D’Emilio*, Amy Sueyoshi, Red Vaughan Tremmel
2008: Moshe Sluhovsky*, Christolyn Williams, Phil Tiemeyer
2007: Ramon Gutierrez*, Jennifer Evans, Daniel Rivers
2006: Vicki Eaklor*, Nan Alamilla Boyd, Don Romesburg
2005: John Howard*, Margaret McFadden, Pablo Ben
2004: Margaret Hunt*, Anne Rubenstein, Tim Retzloff
2003: John D’Emilio*, Lori Ginzberg, Robert Frame
2002: Chuck Middleton*, Margot Canaday, David Serlin
2001: Michael Sibalis*, Leisa Meyer, Christopher Capozzola
2000: Ellen Herman*, James Green, Victoria Thompson
1999: Allida Black, Bill Drummond, Terence Kissack
1998: John Fout, John Howard, Nancy Unger
1997: Linda Heidenreich, Leila Rupp, Michael Sherry
1996: Barry Adam, Leisa Meyer, Randolph Trumbach
1995: Vicki Eaklor, James Steakley, Marc Stein
1994: Steven Maynard, Eugene Rice, Leila Rupp

* chair